Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Iowa

My husbands wages were garnished for state income tax he does not owe. The state claims that we just need to send them documentation proving we do not owe this debt. However, this $14,500 garnishment had created signifigant hardship for us. Is it not the states responsibility to make sure he does in fact owe this debt. And is there a grounds for a lawsuit for garnishing wages for taxes NOT owed? He was also not a resident of the state for the year in question.

Asked on 8/27/13, 11:39 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Unfortunately it doesn't work like that. You need a lawyer who practices in the field. I think that if the state has gone to garnishment that you've known about this problem for some time now.

Read more
8/28/13, 9:31 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88127 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now