Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Iowa

My mother and step-father had a joint will. In 2006 my mother passed. Six months later a friend of my mothers moved in with my step-dad. 2009 my step-dad changed his will to leave everything (~$150,000 total) to the friend.

Since it was a joint will, is the new will void?

Asked on 4/30/13, 8:55 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No, it is not. Once your mother passed away, theres' only one party surviving and that is your father who can do whatever he chooses with the money because it is his and his alone to dispose of.

Read more
4/30/13, 10:54 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now