Kansas | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
Employment/No Child Left Behind Legislation
I am a former paraeducator and interviewed for a job in July with the local school district. Due to the No Child Left Behind legislation, I am required to take a test and pass it before I can be hired because I do not have at least 48 hours of college credit. The district said they could not give me the test because I was not an employee, but to become an employee I had to take and pass the test. I offered to pay $40.00 to take the test here in Lawrence, and they still will not allow me to take it. They told me I had to register with ETS and take the test at Washburn University and pay $40.00, which I am doing. The problem is that the test is not until Sept. 13th, so I am not able to be hired by the district at this time. How can the school district require you to pass a test to get a job, then not allow you to take it locally, especially after you have said you would pay the cost of the test just to be able to get a job?


