Kansas | Immigration Law
Legal Question
Denied entry to US-Immigrant intent
Prior to our marriage my husband phoned the INS and was told that i could enter the US on my tourist visa and Adjust Status. We married in my country. I was denied entry and withdrew my application to enter, notation in my passport 7 (a) (i). No mention of (a)(6). I was not in possesion of correct documents and had immigrant intent.However when the Immigration Officer asked me if i was married, i said no-due to the fact that we had not yet received our unabridged marriage certificate, which we needed for me to adjust status.(i presumed that they would want the documents when i entered the US, and was scared that i would be returned if i did not have the unabridged marriage certificate.) Our I129F and I130 petition has since been approved and i will be going for my visa interview at the consulate soon. On the DS230 under 30 (f) ''...who seeks or who has sought a visa, entry into the US, or any immigration benefit by fraud of misrepresentation....'' would i have to answer yes to this-as we originally received the incorrect information from INS? If so what are the chances of visa being issued without waiver application being made? I did not receive any documents from CBP. Advice greatly appreciated.


