Louisiana | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
My husband passed away and had 2 credit cards in his name only. Will I be obligated to pay this debt? I live in Slidell, Louisiana.
My husband passed away and had 2 credit cards in his name only. Will I be obligated to pay this debt? I live in Slidell, Louisiana.
|
Read More Answered By: Nick Pizzolatto, Jr. |
If the debts were incurred during the marriage they are presumed to be community debts, owed 1/2 by you. When you open his succession, they should be listed as debts. |
Lake Charles, LA
Questions Answered: 3157
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Ventress, LA
Questions Answered: 1605
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 1070
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Thibodaux, LA
Questions Answered: 234
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-08
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-04-04
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-02
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 34
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-15
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-06
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Morgan City, LA
Questions Answered: 16
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-09-08
► Over the last four years, Bank of America was erroneously reporting information on...
► Someone is four months behind in payments she owes to my family. We have a written...
► My ex girlfriend using my identity to make credit card accounts in my name. Well I...
► Gave permission to collection agency to withdraw via bank draft $600.25 to settle an...
► My boyfriend of close to 20 yrs died and left money in the bank. I am not on his...
► My husband and his ex have been divorced about 3 years now. She filed Chapter 13...
► My mortage company is ruining my credit score. they were reporting that i was a 120...
More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Louisiana| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press