Legal Question in Family Law in Louisiana

Where does this child belong her father has just passed away

My cousin by marriage has just lost her father. Three years ago her mother also passed away. Her father married my aunt and she(the 16yr. old child) has been staying with me and my mother almost everyday for the past 2 years. Now that her father has passed away how would my mother be able to become her legal guardian?

Asked on 12/03/01, 5:15 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Nick Pizzolatto, Jr. Pizzolatto Law Office
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Where does this child belong her father has just passed away

Have her petition the court asking for custody of the minor.

Read more
12/04/01, 2:26 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Louisiana

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8788 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now