Louisiana | Insurance Law
Legal Question
It has been three years since I was involved in an automobile accident. How long can the insurance company of the person who hit me prolong a settlement or going to court.
It has been three years since I was involved in an automobile accident. How long can the insurance company of the person who hit me prolong a settlement or going to court.
|
Read More Answered By: Nick Pizzolatto, Jr. |
You obviously have filed suit, so you need to check with your attorney. Unless you were hurt very badly, and there are issues of liability, damages and/or coverage, 3 years is really way out of line. In fact, failing to make a legitimate offer may open up the insurance company to penalties. I guess it could also depend on what jurisdiction the suit is filed in as to the delay. |
Lake Charles, LA
Questions Answered: 3157
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 1070
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Thibodaux, LA
Questions Answered: 234
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-08
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 84
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-14
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 35
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-24
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-06
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 26
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 15
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-03
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 15
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-01-04
► Hit and Run My car was hit in a hit and run. The driver of the car was letting...
► Burial insurance policy I am the executor of an insurance policy to bury an...
► My procuration I know that i need to pay my mothers remaining bills after her...
► Attorney bad faith = hearing on motion for contempt In Suit against homeown Ins.Co...
► Car Accident We were in a car accident and my daughter was hurt pretty bad. She was...
► Totaled Value of Car Driver hit wife from behind. His insurance co. wants to total...
► Attorney holding settlement check How long can an attorney in Louisiana hold a...
More Insurance Law questions and answers in Louisiana| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press