Maine | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Unpaid utility bills
My partner and I, who were never married, recently split up, and I temporarily moved out of the home we own together. He somehow cancelled all the utility bills that were in my name, and put them in his. He also, out of spite, has decided I should pay for all of them ($1150 worth) even though they are from when we both lived there together, as a couple. We are listed on the deed as joint tenants, which, I believe, in my state, means everything is 50/50. Can I take him to court to get him to pay his half, if I can prove he lived there at the time of these bills? PLEASE HELP! I am in no position to pay these bills all myself since I am also the primary care taker of our 2-year-old son. THANKS SO MUCH!


