Maryland | Administrative Law
Legal Question
meetings
Can a council hold a closed meeting regarding the revision of the counties salaries?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Terry Harris |
Re: meetings It depends on the circumstances. Under Maryland's open meetings act, if a quorum of a public body meets to discuss the public's business, the meeting must be open. But there are exceptions and exemptions that might apply. A meeting including a broader discussion of salaries in the context of the budget, for example, should probably be open. A discussion about specific salaries of specific individuals might be covered by an exception. I've handled several open meetings act cases and would be happy to discuss your situation in more detail.
Terry |
Top Attorneys in MD
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law Offices of Robert Beatson, II
Potomac, MD
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-21
Bar Adon Vogel PLLC
Washington, Dc, DC
Questions Answered: 79
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-25
Search Questions and Answers


