Re: building structure in corp.
As the other two lawyers have stated, there's no
reason that you have to transfer ownership of the
building to the corporation. However, at the very
least you need to be sure that you have the right
kind of insurance in place. If someone falls in that
building and is hurt, and if you own the building
yourself, you may well find that you have defeated
the purpose of incorporating since a lawyer may be
able to argue the fall (or whatever accident) was
due to a problem that you as a landlord should have
known about. Now you're personally back on the hook.
A better approach might be to set up two corporations,
one running the business and the other holding the
building. The idea is to build as much of a wall
between potential lawsuits and you, personally. If
incorporating is too expensive you may want to consider
an LLC for one or both of the companies. There are
a variety of considerations you need to take into account,
but in terms of price I personally charge less to set
up an LLC than a corporation since it's quite a bit
less involved...
Good luck with your assisted living center.