Maryland | Business Law
Legal Question
Exchanging airmiles
I have a question with regard to the lack of exchangability of airmiles. The terms and conditions of airmiles refuse their exchange or sale. However, is this really binding? I know of situations where people have excess miles they wish to sell, and others could use these for cheap flights.
I have heard that the legality of 'one-way' forms of contracts, such as software licenses has been challenged. I think this may be another instance given the 'take it or leave it' nature of airmiles programs.
What would be the legality of challenging these contracts, for instance by setting up a bulletin board or other mechanism to allow trade of airmiles, and what might be the possible consequences?


