Re: Harassment in the Workplace
More facts are necessary to determine your legal rights. In employment law, the term "harassment" has a special meaning that applies to various types of behavior based on sex, race, religion, or other "protected classes". It does not necessarily include all types of behavior that are negative. Same thing goes for retaliation.
For example, an employer who is simply "mean" or who picks on one particular employee, may not create any liability for the employer for "harassment" unless there is some issue of race, sex, etc. involved. (e.g. white male boss who picks on a white male employee may not be liable even though the acts feel like harassment from the employee's point of view).
You should contact an attorney to describe your specific facts and determine your rights under the law.
Feel free to drop me a line or contact me if you would like to do so to get an initial feel for your position.
Lawrence R. Holzman, Esquire
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
6404 Ivy Lane, Suite 400
Greenbelt, MD 20770
(301) 220-2200
fax (301) 220-1214
Disclaimer: Please note that the posting of this response is not intended to constitute legal advice. You should contact an attorney to obtain information applicable to your situation. This posting is not confidential or privileged and does not create an attorney/client relationship.