Maryland | Business Law
Legal Question
New hire salary witholding and payback upon resignation
I worked for a co. for 18yrs before leaving in end of January 2005. 14yrs into my employement the employeer decided to withold 1 pay period from everyones salary. Any subsequent employees would also have 1 pay period witheld. I objected but was told I would be recieving that money upon termination and it would be at whatever my current salary was. Well myself and 2 other employees upon leaving were told we would only get what was witheld 5yrs ago and one employee was told he was lucky to get that. It isn't alot of money but the principle. I just want to know if this is legal or not. If not I guess I will have to decide if it is worth going to small claims court. This guy has always nickel and dimed his employees and customers.


