Maryland  |  Business Law

question bubble
10/26/98, 9:06 am

Legal Question


Interstate Contractor Not Licensed in Every State.

I own a Virginia based, Virginia licensed, construction business that is beginning to do design & build in other states. Ex) At this time we have contracted with a Maryland homeowner to build their deck and I have found a Maryland licensed contractor to build it. However, this contractor has become very nervous that I am not licensed in Maryland. In fact, he faxed me a copy of the Maryland Code Business Regulation Article Section 8-601 (a) "Except as otherwise provided in this title, a person may not act or offer to act as a contractor in the State unless the person has a contractor license." And also Section 8-612 "A person may not perform or sell a home improvement with or through another person who is required to be licensed under this title but is not licensed." I am not licensed in any state other than Virginia.

Without obtaining a contractor's license in all 50 states, how can I go about doing business with people in the other 49 states?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search