Maryland  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
5/30/09, 12:09 am

Legal Question


Juvenile Detainment

My 14 year old African-American Daughter was detained for playing a tag game in a mall with a White Male, who was not detained. She asked to call me asap. Was told No until she gave them some information regarding Name/Address/Phone and a PHOTO of her without her consent by THREAT OF ARREST. She was never suspected of Shoplifting and has no criminal history. A Cerified letter arrived later telling me she was banned from the mall for a year and threatened to arrest her on trespassing charges if on the property. Questions: How many Laws were broken here? #1 Call Refusal to parent by a minor (Are Miranda Laws Applicable to Juvenile Detainment)

#2 Photographing a minor without consent

#3 Tresspassing Arrest Threat vs Loittering

Final Note--All the Teens are hanging out at the mall, She always has money to buy things, but they prefer to stand around and talk.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search