Maryland | Technology Law
Legal Question
Copy Rights
1, What does copy right mean and what's it purpose?
2, Do you have to do anything to copyright your site?
3, what do I have to let people know, that my site is copy righted?
4, Elements of fair use and how use of others materials?
5, What should I do if i want to use material others have created?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence Holzman |
Re: Copy Rights Unfortunately, a full response to your questions would require volumes of space. Generally, you should understand that any time a person creates a "work" by expressing it in some medium (whether it is a written work on paper, a sculpture, a movie, a web-page) that creator owns certain "copyrights" automatically as a matter of both statutory and common law. However, in order to protect those rights fully (meaning prevent others from using the "work" without permission) the "work" should be registered with the copyright office, and all publications of the work should be marked with the (c) symbol that warns the world that the work is protected by copyrights.
With regard to using other people's copyrighted material, as a general rule you should seek permission before using copyrighted material. Although there are exceptions to this general rule, space will not permit me to do any justice to discussing them in this message.
Unfortunately, this area of the law is both complex and rapidly changing (particularly as regards the internet). I am not going to be able to do any justice to answering the remainder of your questions in this response.
Fortunately, you can obtain much information on this issue from the web site of the United States Copyright Office (I don't have the web address handy, but if you do a search you'll find it -- it will probably give you good basic answers to most of your questions.)
Of course, I am available if you would like to retain me to provide further assistance with these issues.
Lawrence R. Holzman, Esquire Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A. 6404 Ivy Lane, Suite 400 Greenbelt, MD 20770 (301) 220-2200 fax (301) 220-1214
Disclaimer: Please note that the posting of this response is not intended to constitute legal advice. You should contact an attorney to obtain information applicable to your situation. This posting is not confidential or privileged and does not create an attorney/client relationship.
|
Top Attorneys in MD
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Arden Law Firm
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law Offices of Robert Beatson, II
Potomac, MD
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-21
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Bromberg, Rosenthal, LLP
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-09
Law Office of Lowell G. Wilson
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 56
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-12-08
Search Questions and Answers


