Re: Recouping money paid for item/service not delivered
There are several factual questions that would need to be answered in order to identify ALL of the options and remedies that you have at your disposal. However, here are a few options generally available:
First and foremost, generally if a person pays by credit card they can call the credit card company and advise of the problem and see if charge can be disputed so that credit card co. will help settle things. This puts the consumer in the driver's seat by controlling the money (there are other similar methods of obtaining that result as well).
Second, the Maryland Home Improvement Commission provides takes complaints against licensed contractors (and there may be all kinds of violations depending on your specific facts).
Third, lawsuits (in small claims court, general district court, or circuit court) -- depending on your precise facts.
Depending on the contract that was signed, there may be other remedies (or limiations thereon -- i.e. arbitrartion provision).
Probably want to get someone else licensed and competant to come in and at least give an estimate as to what it will cost repair their work and finish the job properly.
Home Improvement contracting is fairly closely regulated and there is plenty of protection for consumers -- there are also protections offered by the Maryland Consumer Protection Act generally. Most of these statutes also provide for payment of attorneys fees -- though that is NO Guarantee of actually winning them in court.
I would be happy to chat for a few minutes to ascertain whether formal legal counsel would be appropriate and economically viable for your facts.
Lawrence R. Holzman, Esquire
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
6404 Ivy Lane, Suite 400
Greenbelt, MD 20770
(301) 220-2200
fax (301) 220-1214
Disclaimer: Please note that the posting of this response is not intended to constitute legal advice. You should contact an attorney to obtain information applicable to your situation. This posting is not confidential or privileged and does not create an attorney/client relationship.