Maryland  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
4/21/02, 7:38 pm

Legal Question


Should I hire a lawyer or get a Public Defender?

I was arrested when a bag of marijuana was found in my vehicle. I just turned 18 and this is my first offense. I was never read my miranda rights or given a phone call during the 15 hours I was in custody. I wasn't told what I was charged with until the commissioner released me on PR. I would like to get Probation Before Judgment so I can get a fresh start. I was charged with possession of marijuana with a 1 year/$1000 fine max penalty. I have registered at college and secured a job before my trial date. Can I contest my treatment (not being read rights, etc.) or plead guilty? Should I seek a lawyer or a public defender to handle my case? How can I get PBJ? I know I need to discuss this with a lawyer personally but I would appreciate your input.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search