Legal Question in Criminal Law in Maryland

MD Declaration of Rights: Article 23: In the trial of all criminal cases, the Jury shall be the Judges of Law, as well as of fact, EXCEPT THAT THE COURT MAY PASS UPON THE SUFFICIENCY OF THE EVIDENCE TO SUSTAIN A CONVICTION.(emphasis mine)

What does the last clause mean with respect to the whole?

Asked on 7/05/13, 2:54 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Thomas Valkenet Young & Valkenet
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The judge decides if there is an issue for the jury to decide. If the evidence is not sufficient to base a finding of guilt, he can take it from the jury.

Read more
7/07/13, 9:43 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Maryland

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8805 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now