Maryland | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
Pre-employment discrimination based on attire
In response to an ad on an employment ListServ, I sent a coverletter and resume to a Maryland-based Foundation.The Foundation, which is part of a major corporation, focuses on people with disabilities. I was called in for an interview. The person interviewing me brought me in to her office, asked me if I had any questions, and then told me that she likes to ''give feedback''. She went on to tell me that while my attire was acceptable, the fact that I was wearing sandals was not. The sandals, she said, were a red flag - an indicator that I would not fit in. She then told me that she would not interview me and dismissed me. I was not given a chance to even explain my job qualifications. It was an incredibly humiliating and degrading experience, and I feel like it speaks of discrimination on a deeper level.
Do I have any grounds to take legal action?


