Maryland | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
Can shop owners do this?
Are shop owners allowed to limit the number of teens in their store? I would think that this would be some kind of age discrimination.
Thanks.
Can shop owners do this?
Are shop owners allowed to limit the number of teens in their store? I would think that this would be some kind of age discrimination.
Thanks.
|
Read More Answered By: Jeffrey Sheldon |
Re: Can shop owners do this? I can't answer definitively without more information, but the policy is probably acceptable. First, age discrimination laws generally protect older people, not teens. Second, the policy is probably not age-based but rather designed to keep control of the store, guard against theft, etc.
Put yourself in the shoes of the store owner who needs to protect his/her store and merchandise, as well as all the customers, and you can see the other side of this coin.
Jeff Sheldon
Jeffrey L. Sheldon, Esquire The Sheldon Law Firm 17804 St. Lucia Isle Drive Tampa, FL 33647 813.986.7580 (f) 813.986.7489 (Admitted in Fl., MD, D.C., and Pa.) jls@sheldonlawfirm.com http://www.SheldonLawFirm.com
Disclaimer: This posting does not and is not intended to constitute legal advice. It is not confidential, nor is it privileged, and it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please consult with an attorney for advice specific to the facts of your case.
|
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
Re: Can shop owners do this? The action is perfectly permissible. "Teens" are not a recognized class for purposes of your issue. The store owner has a reasonable need and is not being overly broad in applying a protective measure. Local zoning may be specific to permit the activity.
Age discrimination laws are based on protecting older people, namely those over 40 years old. Recently legal analysis is being applied to discern whether this is a form of reverse discrimination. Emerging judicial thought on the matter is that the age discrimination laws may be a form of reverse discrimination that is supported by legislation and the courts. Soon many challenges may be brought as the baby-boomlet (that is children of the baby boomers) come of age and bring challenges.
You should consider writing about the issue and raising interest with your peers. Change happens slowly but without a sponsor no change occurs. |
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1845
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Beltsville, MD
Questions Answered: 70
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-31
Washington Dc, DC
Questions Answered: 46
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 43
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-23
Baltimore, MD
Questions Answered: 26
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-09-30
► How much and what compensation? I am an african-american female with a 1999...
► Court ordered visitation I have a 8 year old daughter and I have no legal...
► Do you need probable cause to search a customers bag & receipt? Do a retail...
► Discriminations against students driving permit My son is taking 10th and 11th grade...
► Sexual descrimination I recently applied for a job within the company I work for. I...
► Name changes for people changing to legal change their sex I need to know..what are...
► Discriminatory Behaviors at Work I am the only black executive male in a majority...
More Other Discrimination Law (Age, Race, Sex, Gender) questions and answers in Maryland| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press