Re: discriminations against students driving permit
None that I know of. There is no age law that applies, nor is there any unfettered right to park on or otherwise use school property. In fact, schools have broad discretion to set exactly the type of rules at issue here. The fact that they might not be applying it consistently might help a bit (since your son was allowed to park last year but not this year), but that only gives you a logical argument to make, not a legal one.
If there is a need for the permit, such as public transportation is lacking, medical necessity (which is a strong argument and raises disability discrimination issues if it is applicable)or it is too expensive to park at a private facility, try making that argument to the principal or administrator. Also, of course, point out that your son has already been issued the permits before.
Good luck.
Jeff Sheldon
Jeffrey L. Sheldon, Esquire
The Sheldon Law Firm
6932 Mayfair Road
Laurel, MD 20707
301.604.2497
fax: 301.776.3954
jls@sheldonlawfirm.com
http://www.SheldonLawFirm.com
Disclaimer: This posting does not and is not intended to constitute legal advice. It is not confidential, nor is it privileged, and it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please consult with an attorney for advice specific to the facts of your case.