Maryland  |  DUI Law

question bubble
10/18/09, 2:06 am

Legal Question


Hello,

Two nights ago, I was driving home from the bar. I had not been drinking for just over an hour and felt as though I was okay to drive home. The weather was wet, and I wrecked my car on a cement median. No one was hurt, and I was the only car in the accident, but I was not able to drive my car away. The police came and gave me a FST, and I agreed to do the officers breathalyzer, where I found out later I blew a .09. The officer explained to me that it was unofficial, but it gave him pretty just cause for cuffing me and taking me down to the station.

We did some paperwork and I gave him information. I was as polite as I could possibly be. When I did the official breathalyzer at the station, I blew a .06. He let me keep my license. He told me that I was being cited with a DUI. This is my first time being arrested and my only other charges I've ever had were a handful of warnings and a reckless driving charge in VA back in 2005 (82 in a 65).

I have never been to court before. For this charge, is it recommended I seek legal counsel or should defend myself? If I went alone I would plead guilty; I am absolutely responsible for my own actions, but is that the smart way to go?

What is likely to be the outcome? What is a typical punishment for a first time offense?

Does it matter that I registered a .06? Is that a lesser charge for being under .08?

I'm really confused as to how I need to proceed.

Thank you for your help. -GS


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search