Maryland | Family Law
Legal Question
Marital Property
If I am separated and then purchase a car, does the car become part of the marital property? Could he take my car from me? Should I wait until the divorce is final?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Lowell Wilson |
Re: Marital Property If you buy the car in your own name your husband will not be able to take it away. However, it will be considered marital property for purposes of a marital property award. This is the amount of money that goes to the person who takes the least out of the marriage when you go your separate ways. It's the courts way of adjusting the inequities between the parties.
If you are going to finance the purchase of the car then you probably have nothing to worry about since the debt you take on will be marital, too. That means your future ex will be only too happy to agree to exclude the car from marital property calculations. In any event, the best thing to do is work out an agreement concerning newly aquired debts and property. It makes things a lot eaiser going forward.
A separation agreement is really worth the money you will spend on it. |
|
Read More Answered By: Carolyn Press |
Re: Marital Property If you purchase a car, or anything else, your husband cannot take it from you. This is particularly true of anything which has a title, such as a car or real estate. But it will be marital property to the extent of the equity in the property (usually, when you buy a car, the value drops as soon as you drive it off the lot and you have no net asset after considering the amount of the financing). But any equity which you do have will be marital property unless the car is a gift to you or comes to you as an inheritance. Marital property has little to do with who owns the property. This is complicated and hard to understand, so bear with me. Marital property is everything acquired during your marriage (including the time after you separate, until the divorce is final) by you and your spouse, individually and together, except things acquired by one of you as a gift or inheritance from a third party. It has nothing to with who owns the property, but only with the value. The total value of marital property is used by the court as a basis for an equitable division of VALUE, not of individual items. If one of you owns a disproportionate share of the value, that one may have to pay the other one a MONETARY AWARD, a sum of money based on what the court may consider to be an unfair division of value. If one of you owns the house, the car, the gun collection, the valuable antiques, the stocks and bonds and the diamond jewelry, and the other one has an old coat and a tooth brush, the first one may have to sell some of the assets to pay a monetary award, but the court cannot transfer title or ownership of the things owned.
In most cases it is as terrible job counting up the pots and pans and all the othe assets, and placing a value on them, so the court can make the final decision. You and your husband can save a lot of money and aggravation it you can reach an agreement about the property out of court. The attorneys' fees to represent you in a battle about the property very often amount to more than the value of the property. But lawyers can be very useful in helping you to negotiate with your spouse outside of the courtroom battleground. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Wagshal and Sher
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Steven J. Scheinin, Lawyer
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Chung & Press. P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 468
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-06-08
Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Law Office of Thomas K. Brown, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 156
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-27
Search Questions and Answers


