Maryland | Family Law
Legal Question
Money issue
Suppose my husband and I are getting a divorce and I have received money from sources (i.e, a trust fund or a will from my parent, or a winning lottery), will he get half of it?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Adele Abrams |
Re: Money issue If you inherit money, it is considered non-marital property in most cases. Certainly if you are separated when you inherit, that is the case but if you inherited property during the marriage (or before) and your spouse put money into it, or did home improvements etc. he may claim an equitable interest in the property. As for lottery winnings, there is case law suggesting that this is marital property even if the parties were separated. If you fail to disclose the winnings at the time of a separation agreement or a divorce trial, and he learns about it later, he could be given 50% whereas if you disclose it upfront, he likely would get less than this amount. If you need assistance with your divorce, please let us know. Good luck! |
Top Attorneys in MD
Wagshal and Sher
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Steven J. Scheinin, Lawyer
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Chung & Press. P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 468
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-06-08
Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Law Office of Thomas K. Brown, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 156
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-27
Search Questions and Answers


