Maryland | Family Law
Legal Question
Step Parent Adoption
I got divorced 9/94 in MD. I have 3 daughters 8-12. My ex got visitation every other Sunday from 10-4. He rarely saw them. I have sole custody. I remarried 1/98. We moved to FL 6/98, because I got a great job offer. My ex had not seen the girls for 18m. He has never paid child support. We receive $171 a month from SSI. He was investigated for child abuse in 7/97. Sexual abuse was indicated, though not enough evidence to convict him.
My husband wants to adopt my girls. I don't know who has jurisdiction, MD or FL. They were born in MD. They have lived in FL for 2 years. We are buying a house. My ex-MIL has been in contact with us, but my ex has not tried to contact my girls. Where would we have to file for the adoption? Also, FL law mentions the step supporting the children. Because of my salary, we have enough money for the children to have one parent home with them. My husband is the primary care giver and homeschools our children. Will that be a mark against him, or is that considered support by FL?


