Maryland  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
1/24/07, 6:37 pm

Legal Question


Being Sued by Previous Tenant

I gave my Tenant 30 days to vacate. I did not wait the 30 days, to throw him out. I threw him out on Dec.31. I packed all his stuff in two boxes and one bag,and set it to the side of the house. Police Officer said, I had to change the lock back.And I had to,let him move back in, which I did change lock back.But on the same day, he has sister come and move his stuff out, so it didn't cost him anything.Now he's trying to sue me for moving expenses & damages. No he did not pay be a security depoist or the Jan.rent.He left the room in such a mess, it took me appx. 5 hours to clean it.Trying to sue for $2,500 + $380. His rent was only $360 per month for a one room.Bein he decided not to move his stuff back in. I don't see where I have to pay him.Police told him he could move his stuff back in. But he choose to take his stuff and leave. Can you help? No I can't afford a lawyer. All I'm getting is a child support check, right now I'm not working but looking for a job. Thank You


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search