Maryland | Health Care Law
Legal Question
Drug testing without permission
Is it legalin Maryland to drug test a person that comes to a hospital ill for treatment and give the results of the test to the family doctor without the persons consent or knowledge of the test?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
Re: Drug testing without permission Drug tests are often performed without a person's permission. For example, most automobile accidents where bodily injury has occurred result in a test applied to all that seek medical care. Similar cases apply where there is a requirements such as with doctors, airline pilots, etc. These provisions apply through implied consent law, contractual provisions, or specific statutes.
Where a person was involuntarily committed to medical treatment, similar albeit different provisions may apply. Where a health insurer is involved, the matter may be dictated by that contract.
On the other hand, where someone sought treatment for substance abuse or detoxification, there are strict laws over the disclosure of test results.
Medical records are to be maintained confidentially. Results are not to be discussed with others; however, treatment efficacy often requires intervention by family.
Your question hings on the facts related to the treatment that was sought. These details should be discussed with an attorney.
G. Joseph Holthaus III (410) 799-9002 |
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Simms Showers LLP
Baltimore, MD
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-01
Joseph, Greenwald and Laake PA
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-14
Alderman, Devorsetz & Hora PLLC
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-09-16
Rosenfeld Injury Lawyers
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Healthcare Litigation Support
Chambersburg, PA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Laurel Anchors, Esquire
Gaithersburg, MD
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Burg Simpson Eldredge Hersh & Jardine, PC
Englewood, CO
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


