Maryland  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
8/15/07, 5:18 pm

Legal Question


Coverage under UM as passenger on motorcycle

My 20 year old nephew who was living with us in MD, died in a motorcycle accident while riding as a passenger on an unregistered, uninsured motorcycle on a MD highway. The motorcycle belonged to the driver, who is not related to or living with us. Both my wife and I have policies with $100,000 worth of Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury coverage.

Would my nephew be covered?

Who would make the claim, us or his parents?

Would our two policies both apply and provide up to $200,000 of coverage?

Would a substantial recovery require that an estate be established (he had virtually no assets)?

Would our insurance company raise or rates? Would they likely sue the motorcycle driver to recover thier losses?

Sorry I have so many questions, but some answers would be greatly appreciated. I don;t even want to bring this possibility up with the parents unless there's a decent chance of success.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search