Maryland  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
9/29/00, 10:41 pm

Legal Question


Is a medical rider signed by a 17-year-old legally binding?

My 17-year-old daughter has been in my legal

custody since the time she was born and has had

no contact with her father. Her father was ordered

to provide medical insurance for her. When he

changed jobs the insurance changed and I filled

out medical records as part of the application

process for my daughter. Later, a

"Rider-Amendment to Policy/ Certificate" was

addressed to my daughter and signed and

returned to the insurance company by her. The

exclusion refers to jaw surgery which she has

been scheduled to have for two years. She has

since had the surgery. Is this exclusion, signed by

my 17-year-old daughter legally binding? Will I be

able to claim any insurance benefits for the jaw

surgery? The home office of the insurance

company is in Illinois, another address on their

stationary lists offices in Indiana, my daughter's

father is in Delaware (?maybe) and my daughter

and I are in Maryland.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search