Maryland  |  Employment Law

question bubble
9/16/09, 2:14 pm

Legal Question


I am a commission salesperson for a 20,000+ employee company based in another state. I have been given a new contract to sign which, among other things, states:

I may not compete in the same industry for 1 year after termination,

I must allow the company to sieze my personal computer and check to see if I have kept or passed on company information (the seizure and verification would be at my expense!),

if my termination results in a law suit I must agree to have it in their home state and also I must agree to pay their attorney fees and expenses in such a law suit, etc.

All the wording seems to be in their favor and has me waiving any rights I may have. The final sentence of the agreement states that without my signing this conract the company may terminate me.

Is all this legal? I have been with the company over 15 years, and am concerned that if I do not sign, I will be fired.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search