Maryland  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
8/29/07, 9:57 pm

Legal Question


Credit Check over $35.00 and req.after signed lease.

Maryland; daughter rented a house from private owner. He agreed to rent to her..move in date Sept.1st.07 - Owner and tenant signed lease. Tenant --name removed--daughter) paid first months rent and security deposit of one more month's rent. Next day owner asks her for $50.00. He says its for a credit check/background check for her file. First, isn't that fee high? Normally it is $25. Also, if he runs it and doesn't like what her report states, can he refuse to honor the lease? Thanks! Need answer asap.

Category: Landlord & Tenants

State: Frederick, Maryland


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search