Maryland | Legal Ethics
2/08/07, 8:19 pm
Legal Question
Civil Law suit in default
What does move to vacate a default mean
Civil Law suit in default
What does move to vacate a default mean
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence Holzman |
Re: Civil Law suit in default Typically, this means that someone failed to respond after they were served with a complaint and summons. The court then entered an order of default. That basically means that the plaintiff wins by default.
A motion to "vacate" means that someone (probably the defendant) is now trying to have default undone ("vacated" basically means "undone") so that they can present a defense and try to win the case.
|
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
Re: Civil Law suit in default To vacate means to lift which, based on your limited inquiry, means to negate the default order or to otherwise render the default order without effect. |
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1845
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-09
► Suing an Attorney I wanted to know if I could sue my attorney with another attorney...
► Can the police shoot my dog? Baltimore City police received a call from a person...
► Lawyer refuses to accept certified mail I am representing myself in an...
► Reading my mail A friend recieved via regular mail a summons for jusy duty. my...
► Case Law-Legal Malpractice stemming from neglect I need to find case law on the...
► What should you do when you are excluded from receiving your settlement award I...
► D. Patient Comfidentiality, Can it be broken I found out in May of 2003 that my...
More Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility questions and answers in Maryland| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press