Maryland  |  Legal Ethics

question bubble
1/29/04, 3:13 pm

Legal Question


D. Patient Comfidentiality, Can it be broken

I found out in May of 2003 that my partner of 17 months was hiv positive, his psychriast and therapist had working knowledge that he and i were have unprotected intercourse, he had lied tome the entire time we were together by telling me on three seperate occassions that he was hiv-, i already have plans for him, but what i want to know is, that i was told that it is considered ''attempted murder'' for an hiv+ person to have unprotected intercourse with and hiv- person without telling him/her.

What i really want to know was it ethical for his Dr. to break the Dr. patient confidentiality agreement if he has working knowledge that a patient of his has had, and was commiting a felony.

I want to know this for a personal law suit against themand the hospital/clinic he is a patient of.Any help anyone can give me would be grealty appreciated. And please don't call me, he and i are not together anymore but he still temporarily living in my house.

Thank You.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search