Maryland  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
3/30/09, 10:00 pm

Legal Question


Dead lawyer owes me money

Back in 2005, at the age of 19, I was arrested. I paid my first lawyer $1500 as a retainer.

On my court date, which I traveled 200 miles to, he was nowhere to be found. I ran around like a damn chicken with it's head cut off for the few hours before they called me. I ended up with a... deferrment? I dunno, another court date.

So, for the next month or so, there was no answer at his office, and I kept calling until the messages were full, then the number got disconnected.

Anyway, I tried to track this guy down with no luck, off and on, from 2005 to 2008, and finally found a year-and-a-half old obituary from a small-town paper in WV.

... can I still get my money?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search