Maryland  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
8/24/08, 10:43 pm

Legal Question


Charged $5000 but case dropped

If a person goes to a lawyer and they

have majority of the info. needed to

start a case against another party for

criminal acts and the lawyer agrees

to take the case but after months of

doing minimal work (such as making

calls and little investigation from the

info. given to them by the client)

decides to drop the case because

they realize that they are not a

criminal attorney. But in the

meantime the client is out of $5000

that was charged by the attorney

working on the case. Was this legal

for the attorney to take money from

a client knowing in the first place

that they were not capable of this

type of case?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search