Maryland | Legal Malpractice
Legal Question
Filing acompliant against a Lawyer
A Lawyer was hired to represent me in my divorce. A retainer fee was given of 2500.00 dollars. The Lawyer was there for my child support hearing. I expressed to him that I did not feel he had prepared me for the hearing. I was under the impression that it was to be a Mediation hearing to discuss what the each of us wanted property, child support, etc. To find out once there that it was soley for child support. My husband makes 75000.00 yearly and I make 27000.00 yearly. But that issue was not discussed his attorney went by the book and the order was set by a standard scale. When I later spoke to my attorney that I am unable to maintain bills and is there something that can be done. This message was left on his answering machine. He never returned my calls until finally a senior attorney answered one of my calls and stated that my Lawyer no longer wants to be my lawyer because I am to needy and he is not a bill collector. I am left with no money to attain another Lawyer and my bills are in arrears, child support services have sent back my application becasue he has also failed to submit a Court order. I recievec a letter recently, from the senior attorney canceling a interrogatory meeting until I am available. Pls help


