Maryland | Legal Malpractice
12/18/07, 2:07 pm
Legal Question
settlement terms
can a client revisit a judgement if their lawyer mishandled the case?
settlement terms
can a client revisit a judgement if their lawyer mishandled the case?
|
Read More Answered By: Walter E. Laake, Jr. |
Re: settlement terms The judgment cannot be "revisited" but your lawyer may be responsible for any damages he caused in "mishandling" your case.
You should consult with another attorney to assess your situation. I'd be happy to speak with you about this matter... |
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Sher |
Re: settlement terms You omitted any details about your case, so I am going to assume you either lost your civil (as opposed to criminal) case in court, or received what you consider to be an inadequate amount in damages from the judge or jury. You cannot relitigate the case, once a verdict is rendered. If the judgment was entered within the last 30 days, you have a right to appeal, but "my lawyer mishandled the case" is not a proper ground for appeal.
Theoretically you could sue your lawyer for malpractice within 3 years of the trial, but the success of that action would depend on a lot of factors. The only way to really evaluate the merits of such a case would be for you to have a consultation with an attorney experienced in these cases. You should retrieve your file from the former attorney so that the attorney with whom you consult can get a complete picture of the case and what happened. |
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 72
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
► Legal malpractice i want to sue my ex lawyer for theft by deception fraud and...
► Transfer of client's contract May a law firm transfer a retainer agreement/ contract...
► Possible corrupt attorney My friend's Grandfather died recently with a multi million...
► Attorney no show I was sued in a frivolous suit this week and retained an attorney....
► Who do I sue? I want to file a small claims case against an Imaging center that...
► Real Estate Settlement Attorney - Conflict of Interest + The seller of a property in...
► I have a warrant for my arrest my wife who been saperated for three year just told...
More Legal Malpractice Law questions and answers in Maryland| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press