Maryland | Tax Law
Legal Question
Lost W2s cannot file tax returns
My wages have been garnished several times due to non-filing of tax returns. All back years have since been filed except 1988 and 1989. The IRS, the state of Maryland, and former employers have not been able to locate my W2s for those years although the IRS certainly knows how much I earned and the amount agrees with my social security statements. My tax liablility was based on those earnings and determined as if no federal taxes were withheld from my pay. How can I possibly get credit for the withheld taxes if I cannot locate W2s for those years in order to file returns?


