Maryland | Traffic Law
Legal Question
I just got a speeding ticket going 85 in a 65. The circumstances were that I was in the left (fast) lane on a highway with an aggressive driver on my rear. To my right was a tight line of cars and feeling pressured and having no way to get over quickly, I sped up to get out of the lane and let the guy behind me go. The first car of the line to my right was an unmarked policeman who pulled me over as I was trying to change lanes.
The ticket he issued was for 85 in a 65 with a penalty of $290 and 5 points. The ticket gives me three options:
1. Pay it, which admits guilt and I pay the $290 and take on 5 hefty points
2. Guilty with an Explanation - In which case I send in the ticket without payment and wait for the court to contact me. NOTE: I am unfamiliar with this option
3. Do nothing and wait for a court date and plead my case.
So, my question is, which of the last two options will result in the greatest reduction of points and fine? I currently have no points and although I hate to spend hundreds of dollars, the points on my license are the greater concern than the fine since it impacts my car insurance for years to come.
I'd love to think that somehow I could go to court and get this dismissed, but is that even realistic? If in addition to my explanation, are there rehabilitative driving classes or something I can take to reduce or eliminate points?
It's been many years since I had a ticket and as I recall pleading "guilty with an explanation," was a common thing. If the net result of taking option two is the same as having to go through taking a day off work, etc., I'd just as soon do that and not go through all that in court. However, if you advise that I may have a chance at a greater reduction in points and/or fine by showing up in court and explaining what I've explained above, I'll take your advice. Is there anyway to present all this and ask for driver rehab or something that could possibly have the judge order that and let me out of the points all together? Last, I assume there really isn't a need to have a lawyer in court is there?
Thank you


