Maryland | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My wife and have lived with her mother for the past 13 yrs paying $1000.00 per month for rent. My mother in-law passed on March 28,2010. We moved out of the house June 30,2010. The initial distribution check from the estate was delivered with the amounts of $7269.00 [$2423.00 ea. month] and a total of $1855.47 for utilities for three months deducted. Since we do/did not own the house is this amount sound correct? We have had friends stating to us that this amount seems high since we did not own the property and that curtain states and jurisdictions have preset amounts when this situation accrues.


