Maryland | Workers Comp
Legal Question
Can an employer punish an employee for going directly to Workman's Compensation when injured without first going through their employer?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Sher |
No, this would be illegal under the worker's compensation law. However, when you were injured you should have immediately reported the incident to your supervisor so it would be documented, and so they could report it to their workers' comp carrier for processing. Then, if you feel the carrier is not properly handling the claim, you can file with the Workers' Comp Commission to protect your rights. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Wagshal and Sher
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Steven J. Scheinin, Lawyer
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
The Pishevar Law Firm, P.C.
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-07
Law Offices of Joseph A. Trevino
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 86
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-09-20
Joseph Greenwald & Laake Pa
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 72
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Law Office of Adele L. Abrams PC
Beltsville, MD
Questions Answered: 70
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-31
ingerman&horwitz llp
Baltimore, MD
Questions Answered: 42
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Law Offices of Kim Parker P.A.
Baltimore, MD
Questions Answered: 29
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-30
Search Questions and Answers


