Maryland | Workers Comp
Legal Question
Will this damage my case?
I have a worker's comp claim currently open. My injury was severe injuring 4 discs in my neck, and requiring 2 surgeries on my shoulder. My neurosurgeon has even suggested surgery on my neck, but I am hesistant to do so. All of this has given me chronic pain.. I have went from an active single mother to a blob that sits on the couch in pain everyday. I was seeing pain management and now I just received a letter from him stating he could no longer give me prescription pain meds (because I had gotten rx's from the surgeon.. and I am not suppose to get any meds from any other dr but him.. though he is in no way controlling my pain) I have been to the ER several times (atleast 2x a month) because it is unbearable at times. In this letter it says he is suggesting I seek substance abuse counseling/help. He says I can continue to see him for my injections, so I know they believe my pain to be real. Will this letter/situation hurt my case? These injuries were there before all of this nonsense, so regardless if he thinks I am addicted or not.. I would think the case is based on the extent of my injuries? and not based on whether or not I have this so called ''problem'' with pain medication. Please help.. this has me worried about my case.


