Massachusetts | Appeals and Writs
Legal Question
appeal and Motion
What are the difference between Appeal and Motion, and how to use them?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Craig J. Tiedemann |
Re: appeal and Motion Your question could hardly be more broad. An appeal is generally the review by a higher (appellate) court of a final judgment or interlocutory ruling of a lower (trial) court. The appeal court primarily considers whether the trial court made errors of law.
A 'motion' is a procedural tool, used in any court, to seek certain relief. A motion can involve all kinds of subject matter and requests for various forms of relief, far too numerous and sophisticated to be answerable as asked.
You should consult counsel and not seek to represent yourself if you have any hope of succeeding in either an appeal, on a motion, or otherwise, for that matter. |
Top Attorneys in MA
VAUGHN-MARTEL LAW
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 1899
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Qua, Hall, Harvey & Walsh
Chelmsford, MA
Questions Answered: 1211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
TIEDEMANN LAW FIRM (TLF)
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 540
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of D. Lev, PC
Watertown, MA
Questions Answered: 267
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Offices of Jonas Jacobson
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-10
Law Offices of Thomas Workman
Taunton, MA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-14
Law Offices of Caro Kinsella
Deerfield Beach, FL
Questions Answered: 209
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-08
Milligan Coughlin LLC
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 27
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Search Questions and Answers


