Re: hvac installation
The Statute of Limitations determines when a legal claim is "cut-off" for lack of pursuit. You will want to proceed immediately to:
1) Seek professional legal advice;
2) Research the relevant Statute of Limitations; identity of the entity that did the work (for proper party to serve with legal process); any and all warrantees given you by the manufacturer and installers The law also gives you specific rights regardless of written warrantees); as well as the relevant consumer protection statutes.
3) Obtain affidavits of the material/mechanical/design/manufacturing defects of the system and/or of the installation;
4) Document your damages (out of pocket costs, etc.). (Note: It may be useful to retain the old parts as evidence)
5) Make timely written demand on the defendants under the proper consumer protection statutes (including M.G.L. c 93A)
6) Make written complaints with the:
a) Attorney General's Consumer Protection Department; The Federal Trade Commision; The BBB; and The Contractors' Licensing Authority.
7) Make demand against the Defendant Contractors's Bonding Company.
8) Take all other legal action in a timely fashion to protect your rights and obtain legal redress.