Massachusetts  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
5/29/07, 10:41 am

Legal Question


credit card bill

I am on social security disability. I suffer from clinical depression and have not been employed for ten years. Citibank South Dakota offered me a credit card, which at the time my fiancee agreed to help pay, so I accepted the card. He's gone, between rent and bills I'm usually broke before the end of the month and now Citibank is suing me for $4,003.37. I wrote them a Mass Gen Laws letter stating that I am lien proof and have no assets or personal property. They ignored the letter. What should I do, I received a summons 5/25 that requires a response in five days. They already ignored the only response I have. Currently I have fifty one cents in the bank, hardly enough to mount a defense. Please Help. I'm 58 years old, unemployed and suffering from a mental illness and I am terrified by this entire process. What should I do? This is making me physically ill.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search