Massachusetts  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
6/21/07, 3:35 pm

Legal Question


credit card debt that was 6 yrs old

I live in MA. I had a credit card in 1999 that i only made 3 payments on. The debt has been sold to several parties and just last month, I received a phone call from a law office demanding payments on the debt. When I asked for any proof of the debt, the representative said the office had sent papers to court for supina and I cannot see them unless they sue me and have a judgement against me. I was scared and made a payment deal with him. 50% off the whole loan balance and post dated 2 checks.

Was there anything that I could have done or said to him before making a deal?

Could I have avoided this deal even though he said the papers against me are in court, I do not want to go to court that's why I made the deal.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search