Massachusetts  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
3/27/09, 9:40 pm

Legal Question


Private Bicycle Sale

My son (18yrs old) sold a used high end downhill bike for $1,550 to another person. Since we live quite far from the buyer, we met him half way at a public location. He looked over the bike quite a bit, took it for a brief ride around, asked questions and talked nearly non-stop about all his experience, etc. The buyer is at least 31 yrs old per race records. After the sale, he called my son and complained a frame weld was cracked on one spot and wants a refund. We cleaned the bike quite a bit the night before selling it and also took some pictures. We don't think there were any cracks when sold. The buyer has contacted my son again indicating there's another crack/broken weld which our pictures don't show. At the time of sale, he didn't bring enough money and probably foolishly on our part, we allowed him to pay $450 of the sale amount by check which he cancelled the next day. Now knowing who the buyer is, I have checked in to his background via the internet and checking with others in the NE downhill racing circuit only to find his buying/selling history is not perfect. Are we obligated to refund based on his aligation, even though we are sure the bike was not broken? Can we file a small claim for the $450?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search