Massachusetts  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
2/04/09, 1:43 pm

Legal Question


How to protect idea before applying for patent

I have an idea for a new product and I need to enlist the services of a mechanical engineer before I apply for a patent. Here are my questions...

1) I anticipate that the engineer will offer suggestions that may influence/alter the design. Should I expect that the engineer will want to be recognized as one of the inventors on the patent application?

2) How do I protect my idea before I approach the engineer so that that person doesn't use my idea and apply for their own patent?

3) Should I require the engineer to sign a non-disclosure/non-compete?

Thank you!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search