Massachusetts  |  Juvenile Dependency

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/24/11, 9:03 pm

Hi. I'm a 17 year old from Connecticut diagnosed with anorexia. My parents basically forced me into a voluntary residential facility in Massachusetts, saying my only other choice was involuntary inpatient treatment, since my weight was then below 85% of my ideal body weight, making me eligible for involuntary hospitalization. I have now been in treatment for over a month (the minimum stay is 30 days) and have restored to just over 85% but am still far from my advised discharge at a total of 8 weeks of treatment and 95% ideal weight. Is there any way I can release myself from treatment as a minor? Also if I intentionally get kicked out of this program, can they or my parents move me to another without my consent? I have largely cooperated with the program and wish to continue IOP in place of residential. Do mass. Or conn. laws apply here? Finally, what are the legal ramifications if I run away from the program? Please help me.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

196 Answers given in the last few hours.

7577 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search